India: President signs four GST Bills into law

Posted on Updated on

President Pranab Mukherjee on 13 April 2017 signed four enabling Bills related to the goods and services tax (GST) into law, taking the country a step closer to its biggest indirect tax reform.

The President has given his assent to the Central GST Act, 2017, the Union Territory GST Act, 2017, the Integrated GST Act, 2017 and the GST (Compensation to States) Act, 2017. “These Bills have been enacted on April 12,” said the Central Board of Excise and Customs. The tax now has legal backing.

The government is hoping to implement GST across the country from July 1, 2017.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s